The Rajya Sabha passed the Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi (Amendment) Bill in New Delhi on August 7, four days after the Lok Sabha cleared the Bill.

The Bill was passed with 131 members voting in favour of it and 102 voting against it. Apart from the NDA constituents, the Bill got the support of the members from BJD and YSRCP.

Bill is to ensure corruption-free, pro-people administration in the Union Territory, says Amit Shah; 102 MPs voted against it; move to refer it to select committee rejected.

The House also voted against the amendments moved by the Opposition and a proposal to send it to a select committee of the Rajya Sabha. Deputy Chairman Harivansh, who presided over the voting, also ordered a probe into the claims of a few MPs who said that their names had been included without consent in the proposed select committee.

We do not want usurp power. People have given us power. This Bill is to block the State government from interfering in the Centre’s powers,” Mr. Shah said, adding that from 1991 to 2015, there was a system on administration in Delhi and the Narendra Modi government had not changed anything. “The present Delhi government tried to change this system and this Bill is to nullify those attempts,” he said.

Countering the points raised by the Opposition, Mr. Shah added that the Centre has the right to draft laws for all Union Territories. “So, services will also include in this. Parliament has the right to amend and nullify the Acts passed by the Assembly,” he said, and added that the Congress was opposing the Act created by it to appease the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). He said the real target of AAP is not the BJP, but the Congress. “It is clear from their electoral history,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *