Political Drama Unfolds: Nitish Kumar resigns, sworn in again as Bihar’s Chief Minister for ninth term

Nitish Kumar has officially resigned from the position of Bihar’s Chief Minister. This morning, he parted ways with the Mahagathbandhan of Rashtriya Janata Dal and Congress, returning to his position 18 months ago. His party, Janata Dal (United) (JDU), will once again form a government with the NDA Alliance (BJP).

After stepping down, Nitish Kumar told reporters in Patna today that “The new Grand Alliance we formed in August 2022 is not in good condition. The situation does not look promising.”

Nitish Kumar’s oath-taking ceremony is expected to take place today at 4 pm. He will have two Deputy Chief Ministers from the BJP named Samrat Chaudhary and Vijay Sinha, who will also be sworn in today alongside Nitish Kumar. The BJP and Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United), or JD(U), have finalised a seat-sharing agreement for the upcoming Lok Sabha election, scheduled in three months.

All BJP MLAs in Bihar have already submitted letters of support to Nitish Kumar. BJP President JP Nadda will also arrive today at 3 pm in Patna to meet and greet Nitish Kumar, attending the oath-taking ceremony.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *